BIG, exciting changes!!!

My heart has been leaning toward this for a long, long time.  This change that I’m about to tell you about.  No, I’m not telling you I’m pregnant again.  Rather, it’s a business change.  Before I go any further, I want to explain my heart.

Over the summer I went to a little photography conference/workshop down in Austin with my favorite photographer friend, Jessica Mooney (shout out, Jessica!).  I felt the information was very beneficial for my business, but I was more intrigued by a photographer, Jim Hicks, who spoke about a non-profit organization he founded called Thirst Relief International.  This is a water development organization working to improve access to safe water in nine countries worldwide.  They are helping thousands of people each year!  I was so compelled by his testimony of how they were helping people globally that I got the information packet, DVD, etc. to take home.   However, I am embarrassed to tell you that it sat in my purse until recently (I’ve got to clean that thing out!) when I started corresponding with the organization.

A couple months ago, my husband had challenged the leaders in our student ministry to read the book Radical, which focused a whole chapter on the apathy that we have toward the world’s poverty.  This chapter resurfaced my heart’s leanings to give to this wonderful organization.  The book also challenged to live “less” and give more, to give sacrificially.  We don’t have to rely upon any government to help those in need.  Rather, we can make the choice to give little by little.

That brings me to my big changes occurring 2011, which is so quickly approaching!  I have been corresponding with the director of operations for Thirst Relief, and he has been so helpful to answer my questions as I begin a partnership with them.  For each wedding booked, I will donate a portion of my proceeds to Thirst Relief in honor of the bride and groom.   I am praising the Lord for this great opportunity to give, as well as create awareness about this serious problem affecting  1.1 billion people each day.

If you have time to read more, I would encourage you to read all about this organization, and maybe you will start giving, too!  As an individual, family, or business, you could begin at $5, which will give one person a LIFETIME supply of water!

{Read here} General Info Handout

So there you have it!  Hailey Erickson Photography + Thirst Relief = Business showing love to the world!

5 thoughts on “BIG, exciting changes!!!

  1. Yet one more reason why you are such a blessing to those of us lucky enough to know you. Thank you for bringing attention both in thought and deed to such an important issue for all of us.

  2. Wow, what a sweet thing to read! brings joy to my heart to see you taking action! I look forward to a long and fruitful partnership!

    Thanks for putting trust in our org to faithfully serve alongside of you.

    God bless,

    Jim Davis-Hicks

    • Thanks Jim! I am beyond excited about giving to such a God-ordained, God-blessed organization! What y’all are doing brings joy to MY heart!

  3. Hailey, Your gracious and loving spirit shine through your words. May this organization benefit greatly from your efforts, as I’m sure they already have, just from meeting you.

    This is something I have been considering for my business for a while, for another charitable orginazation, but haven’t followed through. Thanks for the inspiration, I’m very thankful to have met you.

    Wishing you all the best,

    LaurieAnna

    • Thanks for your kind words! I am greatly encouraged that you, too, are looking into giving to an organization! Sacrificial giving brings such joy!

Leave a Reply

